Program Levels


From age 7 through 18, youth progress through levels by demonstrating The First Tee Nine Core Values, life and golf skills as well as passing an assessment. All participants regardless of age start at the PLAYer level. The primary purpose of The First Tee Certification is to ensure every participant certified has acquired a designated level of golf and life skills proficiency.




Little Linkster is an introduction to The First Tee Program. Using SNAG (Starting New At Golf) equipment (large, safe plastic golf equipment), young children are exposed to the game of golf in a fun, safe environment. No previous golf experience or certification is necessary.  Coaches will try introduce real golf equipment and golf balls when appropriate for each class!

Age 7-9

  • Be active and have fun with peers in a safe and encouraging manner
  • Build inner strength and self-confidence
  • Learn to play golf
  • Focus on building relationships with other players while exploring the game of golf

Age 10-11

  • Explore character concepts in active and collaborative ways that are valuable on and off the course
  • Develop golf skills and enthusiasm for the game
  • Support positive Game Changing behaviors in fun and meaningful ways

Age 12-13

  • Explore both golf skills and characters commitments while having fun with peers
  • Provide opportunities to demonstrate mastery and growth in golf skills and abilities
  • Support growth and development of early adolescents

Age 14+

  • Build character and support personal development
  • Develop additional golf skills and abilities
  • Look toward their future and plan their own paths
  • Evaluate, reflect, and apply their understanding of life and golf skills to new situations on and off the course

ACE (minimum age 13)

ACE is the final and most advanced level of The First Tee experience. The curriculum teaches personal planning for golf, career, volunteerism, and education. This curriculum is taught through 4 projects that the participants will complete. Golf skills focus on more advanced course experience, course management, and competition.